resources

Book Review: Don’t be Sad

Bismillah al-Rahman al-Raheem

Most of my writing so far has been on my personal experiences in an effort to create space for converts within the community. One thing I have been neglecting a bit, however, is the second part of my mission with this blog: sharing resources for new Muslims or people interested in Islam, or even non-convert Muslims who are looking to renew their faith a bit.

So, God willing, I’m going start doing some book reviews (don’t forget to also check out my other resources)! Some of them will be books that I have already read and loved, and some will be new, reviewing them as I read them.

Today’s choice: Don’t be Sad by Dr. ‘Aid al-Qarni.

While this actually is not one of my favourite books, I would definitely read it again if I was feeling a bit down or depressed. It does not have any particular structure (it was written first in Arabic, so I read the English translation), which bothered my perfectionist self a bit, but it was full of nice little reminders that life isn’t actually so bad.

And the main message was to always fix your sight on God. This in and of itself should make you feel a bit better, putting the world into context and all, but it also makes you remember that He is there and He is looking out for you.

Whatever you are going through, you are meant to be going through it and He has only your best interests in mind.

I appreciated the fact that the author used many different quotes and anecdotes in the book both from Islamic sources, like Qur’an and traditions of the Prophet (pbuh) as well as from non-Islamic sources like classical authors and politicians. It just goes to show that you can take the benefit from anyone, without necessarily subscribing to their way of life or religion. But I digress…

At any rate, it is a book that I like to have in my bookshelf for the stormy days. Since there is no real structure and a lot of the same themes are repeated at different points in the book, you can pick out any chapter and just read it as needed.

You can get the book on Amazon or at your local Islamic bookstore.

1 thought on “Book Review: Don’t be Sad”

Leave a Reply

