resources

Hadith of the Month: October

Aa’ishah (RA), relates that the Prophet (pbuh) said: Verily the one who recites the Qur’an beautifully, smoothly, and precisely, he will be in the company of the noble and obedient angels. And as for the one who recites with difficulty, stammering or stumbling through its verses, then he will have TWICE that reward.”

[narrated by Bukhari and Muslim]

Bismillah al-Rahman al-Raheem

For October I chose another one of my very favourite ahadith, the one about those who struggle to recite the Qur’an, but continue to try anyway.

This is very, very pertinent to many recent (or even not so recent) converts. For many of us, Arabic is not a language we are versed in, and for the most part not even a language we had even considered learning before coming to Islam.

Because of this, many aspects of this religion, from prayer to memorizing and reciting the holy book, can be a huge struggle. I have gone through it myself, and watched many of my friends experience the same thing.

Oftentimes we feel like we will never be able to master the pronunciation or be able to memorize a whole surah. And sometimes we want to just give it up entirely.

But the beautiful thing is, God knows that this is not your language. Not only does He see your struggle, but he heaps reward on you for continuing in that struggle. Because when you continue to struggle day in and day out with what seems like an impossible task, what you are really doing is showing Him just how dedicated to him you are.

So brothers and sisters, whether you are still working on the Fatihah or are halfway through memorizing Surah al-Baqarah, keep struggling! Every letter that comes from your mouth is a reward on your record.

7 thoughts on “Hadith of the Month: October”

  1. Whenever I read this hadīth, it makes me chuckle, but also a little jealous (especially the bit about stuttering and stammering). See, before I converted, I had plans to join the Army to be an Arabic translator. So, to that end, I had my Jordanian Christian friend from church teach me how to properly pronounce all the Arabic letters, after having already taught myself the alphabet. So I had that part easy, alhamdulillah. But what’s ironic is that in normal everyday life, I actually have a stutter, and it’s caused me a degree of difficulty (emotional and otherwise) throughout my life. But when I recite Qur’ān… nothing, no stutter.

    Well, six one way half a dozen the other, I guess 😅

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is really quite ironic, both things! I had always wanted to study Arabic because I thought it was cool, but my uni didn’t offer it so I just never got around to it…until now! I don’t necessarily stammer when I read Quran though, for me it is more of an issue with just having to go very, very slowly and often repeat things to get the pronunciation right

      Liked by 2 people

      1. How’s your tajwīd coming though? I’m sure having a native Arab around is a boon, but if you need any extra help, Shaykh Yasir Qadhi (who I wouldn’t normally recommend to be honest) has a series available on YouTube that basically taught me tajwīd completely; my wife, who’s an `ālimah (by Deobandi standards)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I still have quite a hard time with tajwid…it actually makes it worse because my husband is Algerian, the “Arabic” they speak here is not even recognisable if you have learned standard or Classical Arabic…sometimes I even end up correcting the way he pronounces things when he recites! I have a copy of the mushaf that someone got me right after my shahada that is colour coded for tajwid, but that has really not been helping me at all so I will certainly have to go check out Yadir Qadhi’s series….I have always had mixed feelings about him too-I watched his seerah series which I liked, but in general there is just something about the way he talks and some things that he says that just don’t strike me the right way so I haven’t watched or read anything else from him really.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ah, I just assumed he’d have proper tajwīd for some reason. My friend from Lebanon does, and he hasn’t had any “Islamic education,” and their Arabic is super messed up lol. I have that same color-coded Qur’ān! Actually very helpful *after* you’ve learned all the rules… not so much before.

        I don’t recommend Yasir Qadhi because he claims to be a “theologian,” yet he’s an anti-rational Ibn Taymiyyah-loving so-called “Salafi.” Notwithstanding the distance he’s placed between himself and the “movement,” his creed and principles are still very much the same.

        I digress. Keep up the good work 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Ah yes, like I said I haven’t really read much of anything of his so I don’t know anything about his principles and creed and all of that, he just kind of stuck me as off from the beginning so I never looked farther into it. But thank you! InshAllah the series will help, and I can start working on my husband as well! It will be interesting to go back to the colour coding once I know what I am looking at…

        Liked by 2 people

      5. Continued (my finger hit send oops):

        My wife, who’s an `ālimah (by Deobandi standards) just had to polish a few things to put the finishing touches on what that very helpful course taught.

        Like

Leave a Reply

