5 Things I Love to Listen To

1.Qalam Institute’s Seerah Podcast

This is a great one to listen to on a long commute or car trip- each podcast is about an hour long, and they are full of really amazing lessons and reminders from the life of the Prophet (pbuh). Also, you will come to love the Prophet (pbuh) more and more if you listen to a little bit of his life every day.

2.Raise Your Hand Say Yes Podcast

This one actually has nothing to do with Islam, but a podcast that I love anyhow. It is all about creativity, running a business (which I hope to do someday!), and generally just shaping the kind of life you want for yourself. There is a mix of interviews and solo shows, and most of the time it is also pretty entertaining! I like to listen to this one while I crochet or embroider, as it doesn’t require too much focus but can be played in the background.

3.Qur’an with English Translation

I love listening to Qur’an recitation, especially from reciters with a clear and simple style. When I first converted, another convert friend of mine sent me a CD that had been given to her of Qur’an recitation with English translation following every verse. I still like to listen to this one from time to time, because though my Arabic is improving and I can generally figure out what is going on when I listen to Qur’an, I love being able to listen to this one and really understand what is being said.

4.Lectures by Scholars such as Mufti Menk

If I don’t have time to listen to a whole episode in one of the podcast series I mentioned, then often I will hop onto YouTube (internet permitting) and find the most recent Friday sermons or short lectures from scholars that I like. One of my favourites is Mufti Menk, as he is really relatable but also has a very clear message in all of his lectures. He does a couple of great series that I have watched through as well, and I would really recommend going and checking out his videos!

5.Silence/Nature

It’s true, I really, really, love to just be by myself with no noise sometimes. Actually, I really just don’t like excess noise (like TVs, phones, music, loud talking, dishes, etc.) in my life in general. But what I really love is when I go on a hike or just take a walk by myself, and I can hear is the wind or the waves, birds or rustling trees. There is something really centring about just being alone with your thoughts every now and again.

Peace all.

7 thoughts on “5 Things I Love to Listen To

  1. Shaykh Atabek Shukurov is by far my favorite speaker to listen to, and one of the most knowledgeable Hanafi scholars around today. And you can never go wrong with Shaykh Hamza Yusuf, of course.

    Like

    1. ashleybounoura

      I agree, Nouman Ali Khan, Omar Suleiman and Yasmin Mogahed are some of my favourites too! Have you read her book as well? I am not so much of a fan of Yasir Qadhi but he does have some interesting lectures that I have heard 🙂

      Like

      1. ashleybounoura

        InshAllah 🙂 I read it quite a while ago when a friend got it for me as a gift and I really enjoyed it. It changed my perspective on a lot of things…and I even gave it to my non Muslim mother to read 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Notes: Lives of the Prophets – Muslimah According to Me

Leave a Reply

