Qur’an Memorization Challenge

Ok y’all, today I have a challenge for you!

I have been wanted to memorize the first page of Surah al-Baqarah for ages now, but it seems like things keep getting in my way (mostly laziness!).

So today I am making myself a concrete goal: the first page of Baqarah, memorized completely by the end of the week. Seven days.

My challenge to you: pick a short surah or 4-5 ayat that speak to you and memorize them by the end of this week. I would love to hear from in the comments with which surah you have chosen, and any tips and tricks you use for memorization. Don’t forget to check in again and the end of the week and report on your progress!

If you are not a Muslim, you can still participate! Find a translated copy of the Qur’an, and read the very first chapter, al-Fatihah. It is only one page, and shouldn’t take you too long! If you want to read more, head to the end of the book for more short surahs, the ones in the beginning are usually pretty long and very dense with information so those may not be the best for someone new to the book. Once you have done some reading around, leave me a comment and let me know what you thought about it, how it made you feel, and if it changed any ideas you previously held about the Qur’an

Can’t wait to hear from you all, God willing!

Peace.

19 thoughts on “Qur’an Memorization Challenge

  1. I’ve got to first thank you for this little bit of motivation. I’ve been very lazy about memorizing Qur’ān; no excuse! Should’ve been a hāgidh by now 😕

    Anyway. When I first started, I decided to start from the end and work my way back (with Mulk, Qiyāmah, A`lā, Ghāshiyah, and the first bit of Fussilat already done), at least until I’ve finished the last juz’. So next up in reverse order (lol) is Surah Layl. Excelsior!

    Which āyāt are the first page of Baqarah?

    Like

    1. ashleybounoura

      The motivation was first and foremost for myself, I have been very lazy as well. But I am so glad I could help you out too!
      That is actually a really smart way to do it, from back forward I mean. I have kind of just been doing it by whenever I hear a verse or some ayat that I really relate to or just resonate with me in some way, I try to memorise them. But after I go for this challenge I might try out your way…I already have a lot of the smaller end ones done, so it would just be a matter of filling in some gaps and working from there!
      The first page of Baqarah is “Alif, lam, mim, this is the scripture of which there is no doubt, a guidance unto those with taqwa, who believe in the unseen and establish salah and spend of what We have bestowed on them, an who believe in that which was revealed to thee and that which was revealed before thee, and are certain of the hereafter. These depend on the guidance of their Lord; these are the successful”

      Like

    2. ashleybounoura

      Also, sorry for the rough translation…I understand a pretty good amount of Qur’an on my own without a translation, but I have a hard time rendering it nicely into English

      Like

      1. No worries, it got the job done 😉 So to the 5th āyah, then. Knowing what it means make it so much easier to memorize. Are you going to carry on with Baqarah from there, or was that your goal before moving on to something else?

        Like

      2. ashleybounoura

        I’m not sure…we’ll have to see how it goes. I have a lot of “firsts” memorised…first ten of surah kahf, first twenty or so of surah Rahman, and now this one. I think I might go and try to get some shorter, full ones memorised and then try my hand at finishing the others that I have began. Starting with Rahman! I love that one so much, but for some reason I have always had trouble getting more than the first twenty ayat to stick in my head :/

        Like

      3. Well, 20’s a good start to be sure! If you don’t already, I’d say reading it every or almost every day will help a lot. I memorized Surah Mulk without even meaning to by reading it after every `ishā’ salah. Another “trick” I’ve found is memorizing by topic. Like in Surah Fussilat – first it talks about the revelation of the Qur’ān and how disbelievers act with it, so I memorized those āyāt; then I memorized the next group of āyāt that discuss creation; et cetera!

        But definitely starting from the back and moving in reverse order builds a lot of confidence; having suwar under your proverbial belt is its own motivation to keep going – doesn’t matter that they’re short. In a very short span you can say to yourself “wow, I know x amount of suwar already… I really can do this!”

        Anyway. May Allāh make it easy for you!

        Like

    1. ashleybounoura

      Aw thank you! I know what you mean about laziness, but I have been feeling a bit of a burst or motivation lately so I am trying keep it up! 🙂 Which surah are you thinking of choosing? I look forward to seeing how it going inshAllah 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ashleybounoura

        InshAllah! May Allah make it easy for you ameen! I really love surah al Rahman as well, so I will be particularly interested to see how it goes for you 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. justsayyas

    This is awesome! I actually need this motivation so much! insha Allah, I think I’ll try the beginning of Surah Ar-Rahman as well!
    You said you understand the Quran when you read now… did you study arabic or teach yourself? I’m not a revert but for the first time I’m trying to make an effort in studying understanding and practicing Islam insha Allah. So many blogs on WP are helping so much! yours is one of them 🙂

    Like

    1. ashleybounoura

      Thank you so much for your comment and kind words. You can’t imagine how much it means to me that my writing is helping you on your journey!
      As far as understanding Qur’an goes I did a little bit of Bayyinah TVs Arabic with Husna program, which helped a lot, but my subscription ran out before I finished. So now I am doing it the immersive way-I am in Algeria so I kind of have to pick up on the Arabic! 🙂
      Anyhow, I look forward to hearing from you at the end of the week! Surah al Rahman is a beautiful one, can’t wait to see how far you get! Wishing you the best of luck 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. justsayyas

        Shukran and good luck to you too! First 10 verses down! I’ll see how far I go insha Allah. May Allah bless you for encouraging all of us :)))

        Like

  3. Pingback: Ramadan Resources Roundup – Muslimah According to Me

Leave a Reply

