God Works in Mysterious Ways

Ok y’all—as this website is nearing its six month anniversary, I just had to write a quick little post to share some of my feelings and reflections.

The biggest thing that I have learned from this blog is that God really does work in mysterious ways.

I started this blog with the intention solely to connect and share with other converts to Islam.

But within the first couple of weeks, I had many different people from different religious backgrounds telling me how much they relate to my experiences and writing.

I connected with some other awesome blogging sisters, which led me to a Whatsapp group for sisters that turned out to be the answer to my two years’ worth of duas for community and companionship of righteous sisters.

I wrote a post about family who had just closed their doors on me, and ended up being contacted by family whose doors I had assumed closed nine years ago.

I wrote about my multi-cultural marriage and ended up reconnecting with an old friend from university days that I had never expected to talk to again.

I have shared my experiences and in turn had the opportunity to learn about so many experiences different from my own, both from converts and born Muslims.

And most importantly, in my quest to share knowledge, I have learned so, so much.

Like I said, the biggest this that this blog has taught me is the truth of the statement, “You never know what God has in store for you tomorrow.”

To take one example—I have been praying desperately for two years to make friends who would encourage me to good, remind me of God, learn and grown with me, and not treat me as their token “convert friend.” How could I have ever known that that companionship would come in the form of a Whatsapp group, introduced to me by a blogging friend, filled with a bunch of sisters who I have never even seen in real life?

SubhanAllah.

I, like most, sometimes get caught up in the “why isn’t my dua being answered, what am I doing wrong?” mentality. But all I have to do when I start thinking like that is remember everything that has happened since I began writing here, and I remember the ayah:

“…And Allah is the best of planners.”

Qur’an 8:30

So whatever it is that you want to do, but are too afraid, or lazy, or just aren’t sure; take the leap! You never know what God has in store for you just around the corner, and you can bet that if you are patient and persevere He will always give you something better than you could have ever imagined or planned for yourself!

Salaam.

6 thoughts on “God Works in Mysterious Ways

  1. I have always believed that God works in mysterious ways, since before I was even Muslim and it’s a fact. I cannot wrap my head around His total perfection and wisdom. Subhan’Allah… may Allah answer all your dua’s. Ameen.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. ashleybounoura

      Ameen 🙂 I hadn’t really ever thought about it until I converted and then began to reflect more on my life and just how perfectly everything has always come together…SubhanAllah He is indeed the Best of Planners!

      Liked by 2 people

    1. ashleybounoura

      I didn’t either when I joined, in fact I was reluctant because I don’t really like whatsapp to begin with…but alhamdulillah I did join!! 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

