Muslimah According to Me Q and A: Responses

Ok, so from all hundred and something of my followers and however many liked the original Q and A announcement post, I only got one question.

Side note to this sister who sent the question-you are wonderful and I certainly appreciate you!

But at any rate, I am guessing that my lack of questions means either I am doing a really great job sharing my story and explaining my thoughts, or really no one can be bothered…I’ll just keep thinking the first one is the truth!

Anyhow, I got the following question from one sister, and inshAllah I will do my best to give it a decent answer!

What’s your favorite thing about Islam? What made you want to convert?

Firstly, you can read more about my story here and more about why Islam instead of other religions here.

I will try not to repeat myself too much from those posts…

So, my favourite thing about Islam: that is such a hard question!

The first thing that pops into my head when I hear that question is that I love how Islam is the “middle way” and a religion of knowledge, learning, logic, and reason.

I really love how Muslims are encouraged to not only perform rituals, but to understand the reasons behind them. For me this brings things like the five daily prayers, or certain ayat of the Qur’an that much closer to my heart, and in questioning and learning I find so much more depth than if I just do it “because.”

As for the second question-I didn’t really want to convert at all.

I don’t know how I’m going to make this make sense, but as I kept learning and learning and finding out more and more how much I loved Islam,  I just kind of started practicing.

In a weird way, it was like God just gave me no choice, if that makes any sense.

I hope those have been some succinct yet insightful answers to your questions, and of course I always welcome more!

Salaam y’all!

8 thoughts on “Muslimah According to Me Q and A: Responses

    1. ashleybounoura

      Wa alaikum salaam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh! Ameen and thank you 😊 Im so thankful I have the opportunity to share my story, and hopefully help others out there going through the same things InshAllah!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. ashleybounoura

      Haha yeah I posted it last…Saturday or Sunday I believe. Even if it’s not an official Q and A though I am always open for questions haha 😊 that’s what I put the contact page there for, so anyone can get in touch anytime!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

