Morning and Evening Supplications

Salaam everyone, I hope this post finds you well and having a great 2017 so far!

Today I want to write about something super important, that I have just recently started practising in my own life: the supplications after the morning and evening prayers.

I had always heard that the morning and evening adhkaar (supplications, or words of rememberance) had the power to revolutionise one’s relationship with God, but until very recently I was a little confused about when exactly they should be said, and what exactly should be said.

And I was too lazy to go figure it out.

But one day, back in the end of November, I was fasting and I just decided to open up my Fortress of the Muslim, which is an awesome little book of supplications, tasbeeh, and the like from the sunnah, and looked for a section on morning and evening supplications.

Lo and behold, with a little look through the table of contents, I found them! For anyone who has the book in its English translation, they begin on page 91, with the title “Words of Rememberance for Morning and Evening.”

It was a little overwhelming at first, seeing exactly how many of them there were. I started thinking, oh my goodness, how in the world am I supposed to memorize all of these!? So I decided to just read through them, and start with the ones that really resonated with me. And I narrowed it down to the few that I will share with you in a bit…

But first the question of time: when exactly are they supposed to be recited? It is clear from the hadiths concerning these words of remembrance that they are supposed to be said in the “morning” and the “evening,” but what exactly does that mean?

After some poking around, I found that there is a bit of a difference of opinion.

As for the morning adhkaar, some of the scholars say that the time for those begins when dawn comes, and ends when the sun is risen. Others say it lasts all the way until the forenoon or duha time (which is something else I want to post about soon inshAllah!).

For the evening adhkaar, scholars say that this begins at the time of ‘asr prayer, and ends when the sun sets. Others have said the time extends into one-third of the night, and yet others have said that the time for the evening supplications begins after sunset.

“And glorify the praises of your Lord, before the rising of the sun and before its setting…” Qur’an 50:3

For me personally, I try to say my adhkaar right after fajr for the morning ones, and I take some time to sit down right after ‘asr and do the evening ones. Though if you are someone with a more hectic schedule, I think there would be no harm in taking the more lenient opinions as to when the times end, so that you will be able to fit them in.

To get you started, here are a selection of the adhkaar that I have been reciting:

-Alahumma bika ‘asbahnaa, wa bika ‘amsaynaa, wa bika nayha, wa bika namootu, wa ‘ilaykan-nushoor.

O Allah, by You we enter the morning and by You we enter the evening, by You we live and by You we die, and to You is the Final Return.

For this one when it is recited in the evening, “by You we enter the evening” should be said first, and “by You we enter the morning” should come second.

Fortress of the Muslim p. 98

-Alahumma ‘aafinee fee badanee, alshumma ‘afinee fee sam’ee, alshumma ‘afinee fee basaree, laa ‘ilaha ‘illaa ‘Anta. Alahumma ‘innee ‘a’oothubika minal-kufri, walfaqri, wa ‘a’oothu bika min athaabil-qabri, laa ‘ilaaha ‘illaa ‘Anta.

O Allah make me healthy in my body. O Allah preserve for me my hearing. O Allah preserve for me my sight. There is none worthy of worship but You. O Allah, I seek refuge in you from disbelief and poverty, and I seek refuge in you from the punishment of the grave. There is none worthy of worship but You.

(Recited three times in Arabic)

Fortress of the Muslim p. 103

-Hasbiyallaahu laa ‘ilaaha ‘illaa Huwa ‘alayhi tawakkaltu wa Huwa Rabbul-‘Arshil-‘Adheem.

Allah is sufficient for me. There is none worthy of worship but Him. I have placed my trust in Him, He is the Lord of the Majestic Throne.

(Allah will grant whoever recited this seven times in the morning or evening whatever he desires from this world or the next, Abu Dawud 4/321)

Fortress of the Muslim p.104

-Yaa Hayyu yaa Qayyoomu birahmatika ‘astagheethu ‘aslih lee sha’nee kullahu wa laa takilnee ‘ilaa nafsee tarfata ‘aynin.

O Ever Living One, O Eternal One, by Your mercy I call on You to set right all my affairs. Do not place me in charge of my soul even for the blinking of an eye.

Fortress of the Muslim p.109

These are the four adhkaar that I started off with, and by repeating them every fajr and ‘asr time, I have come to memorize them! Just a few weeks ago I also decided to try adding in one more, though I don’t have this one fully memorized yet:

-Allahumma ‘innee ‘as’alukal-‘afwa wal’aafiyata fid-dunya wal’aakhirati, allahumma ‘innee ‘as’alukal-‘afwa wal’aafiyata fee deenee wa dunyaya wa ‘ahlee, wa maalee, allahum-matsur’awraatee, wa ‘amin raw’aatee, allahum-mahfadhnee min bayni yadayya, wa min khalfee, wa ‘an yameenee, wa ‘an shimaalee, wa min fawqee, wa ‘a’oothu bi’adhamatika ‘an ‘ughtaala min tahtee.

O Allah I seek Your forgiveness and Your protection in this world and the next. O Allah I seek Your forgiveness and Your protection in my religion, in my worldly affairs, in my family and in my wealth. O Allah conceal my secrets and protect me from anguish. O Allah guard me from what is in front of me and behind me, from my left and from my right, and above me. I seek refuge in Your Greatness from being struck down from beneath me.

Fortress of the Muslim p.106

Since I have begun to read these every morning and evening, I have felt an increase in imaan like I haven’t felt since the time right after I converted. I feel so connected to Islam, and so excited to learn more and continue growing, and I think that really has been a result of taking the time out of my day to say these adhkaar, no matter how tired or lazy I am feeling. I have also been trying to take more time and focus on my 5 daily prayers, and the sunnah prayers that go with them, and doing voluntary fasts.

These three things together really have been changing my life over the past month or two, and I would really urge you to try to learn a couple of these adhkaar for yourself! You don’t even need to memorize them, just keep the book or a paper handy during fajr and ‘asr, and read them every day.

I would love to hear some of your favorite morning and evening adhkaar, and if you don’t say them yet, pick one and tell me which one you are going to learn!

Salaam.

Photo Credit: Bridget Eckhardt (more contact details coming soon!)

10 thoughts on “Morning and Evening Supplications

  1. justsayyas

    Alhamdulillah I’ve also recently started reading Adhkaar. I just read the tasbeeh though, Astaghfirulah al adheem wa atubu ilay, la ilaha ilallah and salawaat. I read 100 of each and then i make an extra dua afterwards but yes the change this makes by starting and ending your day with praising Allah and loving His Rasul is astonishing. I can feel the difference when I’m too lazy to pray these tasbeehs.

    The ones you cited are lovely! Insha Allah I will try to incorporate them in my daily supplications.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. ashleybounoura

      I’m glad you liked them! I just kind of picked these ones at random because they spoke to me when I read them, but doing lots of tasbeeh is an amazing way to start and end the day as well alhamdulillah 🙂

      Like

    1. ashleybounoura

      Aw jazakallah khair for the kind comment 🙂 There is also another book mentioned above by another commenter, I have never read that one but I am looking into getting it as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Masha Allah… subhanallah I never took the time to figure out when morning or evening time is… been negligent on that part but alhamdullilah I say my adhkarr every day after fajr and after maghrib Salah….. Jazak Allahu Khayraa for the post. I always add Ayatul kursi and last two verses of surah al Baqarah for protection too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ashleybounoura

      Jazakallah khair for your comment 🙂 I have been reciting ayatul Kursi after every salah for a while now, but I didn’t know about the last two ayat of surah baqarah inshAllah I will have to get to work on memorising those!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Ramadan Resources Roundup – Muslimah According to Me

Leave a Reply

