Hadith of the Month: March

“Take benefit of five before five: Your youth before your old age, your health before your sickness, your wealth before you poverty, your free time before you are preoccupied, your life before your death.”

Reported by al-Hakim

I am so excited to write about this hadith today. The advice of the Prophet saws is so valuable, yet in this day and age it is something we rarely take heed of. How often do we fall sick and wish we had taken advantage of our health? How often do we get a new job, have kids, get married, etc., and begin to regret all of the things we didn’t do before we were so busy?

This advice applies to my life and situation in all of the five things, but I have been particularly thinking about the fourth piece lately: take benefit from your free time before you are preoccupied.

Here in Algeria I cannot work due to the economy and lack of market for my skills among other things (got told to take my hijab off for an admin post a few months ago!), and I do not yet have any kids. I can take care of any household duties pretty quickly when I wake up in the morning, so when my husband leaves the house in the morning, I have plenty of time to myself.

I have been complaining about this for ages; I wan’t to work, I want to start my life, make money, get moving. I wan’t to start having kids and get our own permanent place, etc. etc. I am so eager to move on to the next step and stop just sitting around doing nothing much all day.

But when I think about this hadith, I realise how much more I should appreciate the time I have now. I have time to pray sunnah prayers, I have the energy to fast voluntary fasts. I have time to work on my embroidery projects that I eventually want to put into an online shop. I have time to read and to write. Heck, the fact that I have no job and no kids and no major commitments beyond my husband and tiny house is the whole reason that I can keep up with this blog as consistently as I have been!

Another thing this hadith really makes me reflect on is technology and social media (which I want to write another post on in the future in shaa Allah!) How many minutes a day do we spend on our phones, checking emails, checking Facebook. How much does that add up to? It makes me ask myself, am I really taking all of the benefit I can from my free-time before I become preoccupied?

So I hope this has been some food for thought for y’all today. I am making a resolution to complain less about moving on to the next stage in my life, live more in the present, and make use and take as much benefit as I can from this time in my life.

It is all temporary, after all.

Of course I want to hear from you: which of these five are you not taking full benefit from? And what are you going to do to change that?

post-signature

12 thoughts on “Hadith of the Month: March

  1. What a reminder, it kinda makes me sad & nostalgic… 😦 Right after I converted to Islam was a huge transitional period in my life and career. I went through a stage of “will I just wear hijab out of work?” Autho’Billah… as a new Muslim I wasn’t sure what to do… Alhamdulillah I decided not to.. I got a few jobs but nothing that made me happy and decided to stop altogether…. for 9 months. My husband was working a lot and some days were a bliss I enjoyed my coffee treat, I enjoyed walks at night… I enjoyed learning about Islam. (I read so much and watched so many programmes) nowadays, I struggle. I have a job that I love so it takes up a lot of my time & it makes me nostalgic to the days I had free, I was so eager to move on to the next step like you. My advise for you is things change when you least expect it. Out of the blue, we packed our bags and left in the middle of the night for a new job, a new apartment in a new city. It was so exciting but at the same time, now we are here, “living the life” we realise how much we are sacrificing. (Family time especially) and even I don’t have as much time or energy left at the end of the day to look after my husband and spoil him like I used to. So enjoy these moments. Trust Allah that nothing lasts forever. Whenever you feel fed up, read your favourite book, go for a hot shower, whatever makes you feel better – do it just to pass the moment.
    Thank Allah MORE & believe me through patience & prayer He will reward you.
    “The best days of your life haven’t happened yet” My favourite moto.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. ashleybounoura

      I love that motto! I think humans in general tend to either be nostalgic for the past or anticipating the future, what I really want to work on is living in the moment. Like you said, I know once we are back in the states I will be much busier, I need to remember to enjoy the luxuries I have while they last!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. ashleybounoura

      Perhaps you work better with “busyness” and free time makes you lazy? I find that in my own life sometimes, if I have 60 things to do in a day they will all somehow get done, but if I have only one thing it won’t happen until like, right before I go to bed 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  2. justsayyas

    I needed this reminder! I keep thinking I need to get married now but actually I’m at point in my life where my only responsibility is myself! I should honour that responsibility by working on my relationship with Allah. everything else will fall into place. But there will be a time when I will yearn for when I had nothing to worry about except work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ashleybounoura

      Exactly. Lately I’ve been learning to trust that Allah swt had put me right where I need to be, and in shaa Allah, everything will fall into place!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. That is so true @justsayyas… There was a time where I kept telling myself that there are so many things to do at such a limited time, because I hadn’t learnt yet to appreciate life and what Allah (swt) is providing me at the moment, is what is right for me, as HE knows best. Every now and then I still have to remind myself. But Alhamdulillah, i have learnt to appreciate more and more everyday.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

