Voices

Guest Post: Through My Sister’s Eyes

Bismillah al-Rahman al-Raheem

Today I’ve got something a weeeeee bit different for you guys…a guest post from my sister!

I read a book ages ago, when I first converted, called Daughters of Another Path. It was all about the experiences of mothers as their daughters came to choose Islam and begin practising a different way of life. I would definitely recommend you go have a read, even if you are not a convert, it is so interesting to read the story from another point of view.

That is why I thought it would be cool to have my own sister write a little something for me about her experiences and feelings when I decided to convert. She likes to write, and it was interesting for me to see things from the other side.

So, I hope you will enjoy reading it! And if you like it, do leave her some love in the comments; she is a teenager and needs all she can get =)

blog divider

 

Being the sister of a convert to Islam is not as difficult as many people think.

I thought it was a phase for the longest time. Ashley has always been very interested in different cultures and religion. I knew she was exploring, I just did not know she was stopping here. I always want to ask her, “ You could choose any religion, and you had to pick the most despised and misunderstood religion there is?” I would ask her this more as a joke than a serious question, because I know she is smart and knows what is best for her.

Many people ask, “How hard is it dealing with the conversion of your sister?” and I always think to myself: what conversion? My sister is still my sister. She may have developed different beliefs, started eating differently, started praying more, and wearing more clothes, but she is still the same person I have always loved and admired.

There is nothing I would change about Ashley, I am glad she is finally happy and has come to realize who she is and what she believes. Although there is nothing I would change, there are still some minor challenges I face in result of her decision to convert.

One particular change she made that impacted my life is her diet. She and I shared many memories through food. We used to eat at this local place in our hometown, Placerville, called Z Pie. This is a meat pie place, that is, unfortunately, not halal. Even though we used to love to eat here, we cannot anymore. This is only one of the many places that I had enjoyed with her that we can no longer go to. It is not a huge deal though! We always find other places, some of them are new, and some of them are not, but it is always fun!

Not only are there problems with food when eating out, but we even have problems at home. Our mom LOVES to cook and she always provides us with amazing meals at home, with a lot of meat, (we are huge meat eaters in this family). Anyway, where we live, it is pretty hard to come by halal meat. The closest store I have seen to sell halal is about an hour away from where we live.

Another challenge I face is when we go shopping together, or go out together at all really. Where we come from, there are not a lot of Muslims at all; therefore, when we go out we receive many stares. These looks from people are typically judgemental, but not always. I feel the staring the most when Ashley needs to pray in public.

Some people probably assume she has kidnapped me. The looks people give her always make me feel concerned for her safety. I hear news all of the time of Muslims falling victim to hate crimes, even violent hate crimes. This makes me fear for her safety because about these crimes, I think about how that could be Ashley, and that is the hardest part about her conversion.

All in all, I would not change who my sister has become and I am very proud of all she has overcome and her choices.

Peace,

Kaitlyn Divine

blog divider

 

Note from the big sister: Z Pie is not just a meat pie place; they totally have vegetarian pies that I can and have eaten since I converted! Also, I can’t imagine how the home cooking thing affects her; my mom literally tells me what she wants to make that night and I make the drive down to the halal shop to buy the meat! =P

13 thoughts on “Guest Post: Through My Sister’s Eyes”

    1. Jazakum Allahu khairan for the comment! In shaa Allah I might see if I can get one from my mom at some point too…I’m sure hers would also be quite interesting!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hello Kaitlyn. It was so nice to hear your thoughts. I got a few question for you, have you ever thought of following in your sisters footsteps? Why? What’s stopping you? What do you love about Islam?
    Don’t worry about her safety coz we believe that only Allah can protect us. Although there are many who hate Muslims even those not Muslims are not 100% safe anyway. They are still victims of mugging etc.
    Don’t dwell too much on the old memories when you can be making new memories… Would love to hear from you again.

    Slm Ashley. Sorry about my long comment. Your sister sounds as awesome as you and she seems to look up at you. Can’t wait for more.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Aw jazakum Allahu khairan for the comment! And no problem on the length 😊 I don’t know if she is looking at the comments but in shaa Allah if not I will pass your questions along to her; I would be interested to hear the answers as well!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. So, my sister had a look at the comments and this was the text I got from her this morning:
      I didnt follow your footsteps cause im atheist and dont believe in organized religion.
      Not the deepest answer I could’ve hoped for…but she did also say that the thing she likes about Islam is that it promotes peace !

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s amazing to hear other people’s views to Accepting Islaam. I have to say, You are lucky to have such a supportive close sister. May Allah strengthen your bond and keep you close.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Alhamdulillah I know I am much luckier than many converts in my family situation-all of my closest family have been so supportive alhamdulillah! Ameen and jazakum Allahu khairan for your comment and dua! 😊

      Liked by 2 people

  3. This is the cutest most sweetest post ever!! First of all, you’re sister is so awesome it must be wonderful to have someone so supportive by your side. Second of all, I’m reading the book “Daughters of Another Path” right now. I love it so far and in shaa Allah I’ll give it to my mom when I’m finished. And lastly, your big sister note at the end has me cracking up hahaaa!!!

    xoxo

    Chelsea ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you ☺️
      Yes I am so thankful for my supportive family alhamdulillah, I know many don’t have that luxury.
      I’m glad you like the book! Since I started thinking about it, I want to reread it, but I think it is in a box somewhere in Cali, so…
      But do let me know what you think and if your mom likes it in shaa Allah!

      Like

Leave a Reply

