inspiration

The Night Prayer

Allah refers to people of paradise in the Qur’an 51:17-18 as those who, “They used to sleep but little of the night, and ere the dawning of each day would seek forgiveness…”

Praying an extra couple of rakat in the wee hours before fajr is something we have all heard of the benefit of, and it is something that I have been trying to get into the habit of pretty much forever. Maybe not that long, but it sure feels like it.

In case some of my newer readers haven’t actually heard of the night prayer, some of its benefits include being a time when duas are readily answered, gaining closeness to Allah swt, being forgiven your sins, and being counted among “the few” mentioned in the Qur’an as those who forsake their sleep to worship while the rest of the world slumbers away.

“It is upon you to perform the night prayer, because it was the practice of the righteous people before you. It is a means of obtaining closeness to Allah the Exalted, it erases sins, it prevents wrongdoings, and it drives away the sickness from the body.” Narrated in Ahmad and Tirmidhi

For me personally, it also brings a sense of peace and happiness, and even gratefulness that Allah swt has allowed me to be one of the people that woke up and was able to talk to Him at such a special time that day.

When I first started trying to implement the night prayer, I tried to begin with praying at least two rakat whenever I woke up early to eat a little something before a sunnah fasting day like Mondays and Thursdays. I still can’t seem to do it regularly, but I have honestly seen miracles happen when I do.

To illustrate this: my husband and I waited around six months for the first step in our visa case to be approved. I clearly remember on the day we finally got the approval, waking up early to fast, and asking Allah swt in my sujood to please grant us a positive answer today. And just before asr that very same day, my husband calls me to tell me he checked online and saw that we had been approved. SubhanAllah!

I generally just feel good and happy when I pray extra at night or early in the morning before fajr, which is why I really would like to make it a lasting habit. I don’t know why my previous attempts have fizzled out, but I have made the decision to really get to work on this.

I do good with public accountability. And they say that it takes seven days (or is it ten?) to form a habit. So, every day this week, in shaa Allah, I will wake up for the night prayer just before fajr. Of course I will be reporting back to y’all on how it goes for me, and naturally I expect y’all to at least wake up once, just to try it out, and let me know how it goes for you! Bonus points if you do all seven days with me.

May Allah make it easy for us and grant us to be among the few who worship at night when everyone else is asleep, ameen!

10 thoughts on “The Night Prayer

    1. Ameen!

      I do actually pray witr already alhamdulillah, I don’t know what the actual ruling of it is for Malikis, but my husband does it every night so I also got in the habit

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Love it! Can’t wait to see how it goes for you in shaa Allah! I was actually able to wake up today before even posting this alhamdulillah 🙂 in shaa Allah we can keep it up

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! Well I missed a day due to travel and just being exhausted, but alhamdulillah the rest has gone good! In shaa Allah I will be back on track tomorrow!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Alhamdulillah! I woke up today as well, but partway through the day I had to stop praying, so in shaa Allah I will be picking the challenge up in a week or so! Do keep me updated on your progress in shaa Allah 😁

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

