Blue Sky Tag

Salaam everyone!

So I am doing something a little out of the ordinary…usually I have to say I am not that much of a fan of blogging awards and tag posts and all that jazz, but this one did make me smile. I’ve been feeling a bit disconnected from my blog lately; my posts are all scheduled out, and while I still love writing about what inspires me, I have been feeling very lazy about getting on and actually connecting with others, whether here or on my social media.

But seeing that I had been tagged by the lovely Shukrallahblog, I decided to participate with the hope that it will help me re-engage with the community I love so much in shaa Allah!! If you don’t follow her blog, I highly recommend it. Hers is one of my absolute favorites, because while she and I don’t necessarily agree on some things, I truly admire how much heart she puts into her writing, and how strongly she stands by her convictions. It is so inspiring, ma shaa Allah!

Jazakum Allahu khairan to Larissa for the nomination =)

So without further ado, here are the rules of the tag:

-Answer the 11 questions given to you

-Nominate and Tag 11 people

-Give 11 questions for your nominees

 

Here are my answers to her questions:

 

1.Who inspires you?

I think I am most inspired by all of the amazing women around the Prophet (saws). The more I learn about his wives and female companions (radiAllahu anhum) the more amazed I am. There is such a diversity of characters and personalities that I can always find something to relate to in one or the other, and they give me such a beautiful example to look up to!

 

2.How do you feel about Ramadan approaching?

Super excited! I’m not in an ideal environment, but in shaa Allah I am hoping to try to make the best of it! I plan to be staying at home quite a bit, getting off social media, and really focusing on what is important during the month in shaa Allah =)

 

3.Where is your favorite place to go on a weekday afternoon when you have no plans or obligations?

Lately, my own house! Haha. These days I can’t be bothered to get all dressed, go out in the heat, and deal with people in this city. But if I was back in the States I would say going for a nature walk, or getting in some good writing time at a local, family owned cafe. I love things like that!

 

4.What is your talent?

Oh goodness, I don’t know. This is why I don’t have a job-I’m super bad at “selling” myself! People tell me I’m good at writing, and I am just starting to really hone my needle-crafting skills with embroidery and cross stitch. That’s about all I can think about right now…

 

5.Choose an inspiration quote that always picks you up.

“… Allah is the Best of planners.” Qur’an 3:54

 

6.Which would be harder to give up, tea or coffee?

Tea for sure! I don’t drink coffee, but I usually end up with a good 2-4 cups of tea a day!

 

7.Is there a book or documentary that really changed the way you thought about something?

Nothing specific comes to mind right now…there are so many things that I have read or heard throughout the course of my journey with Islam that have given me these huge “ah ha!” moments, and really clarified something I had not understood before, especially where women’s issues are concerned.

 

8.What’s more important to you, your home or your career?

Never thought I would say this, but my home. That is what is always there, that is what you have to put the effort into. Careers can change, can come and go, you can get different education and training and take new jobs, but the place and the people you come home to everyday after work should be a constant, a sense of stability, if that makes any sense.

 

9.How long have you been blogging for?

I had a small blog back in the day when I first converted, in 2014, but that didn’t last long. This current blog has been up and running since July 2016, so not even a year yet. But in shaa Allah there will be many more to come!

 

10.Which country are you from?

The United States of America. I used to be a little ashamed of that…awful foreign policies, racism, stereotypes that all Americans are fat and stupid, and whatnot. I used to just say “yeah” when people abroad asked if I was from Canada! But lately seeing how people have truly come together to fight back against the awful things that are going on in the government, plus living in a country where I don’t have half the privilege that I did back home, has really made me feel grateful to be American.

 

11.What du’a do you seem to make the most?

Right now it is dua to see my family. I haven’t seen my family in person for around two years now, and I am really feeling the home-sickness starting to set in. That, and actually duas of gratitude, for good friends, for creative outlets like this, for my husband, and for yummy summer fruits to name a few =)

 

And my nominees are:

 

My Sandbox Journey

Scottish Muslimah

Voice of Salam

Life of a Muslim Revert

Stylebyfj

Mariam Poppins

Genuine Gems Writing

Mina’s Memoir

(I know that a few of these were already nominated in Shukrallahblog’s post, so you don’t have to participate twice if you don’t want to! I think she and I follow a lot of the same people, but I love all of these blogs so much I at least had to give a shout out! Also, anyone else who doesn’t want to of course doesn’t have to participate, but I wanted to at least give y’all a mention =))

 

And my questions for y’all:

 

1.Favorite breakfast food?

2.Which ayah/surah of the Qur’an really goes to your heart?

3.Most interesting place you’ve ever visited?

4.What are your hobbies?

5.What word/phrase drives you bananas when people use it?

6.When do you do your best writing for your blog?

7.Which of the five daily prayers is your favorite?

8.Where would you rather live, city or small, rural town?

9.Your favorite summer fruit?

10.What are you currently reading?

11.What was you “dream job” as a kid?

13 thoughts on “Blue Sky Tag

  1. Assalamualaikum Ashley, I really agree on what you said about home, although my family may not be very supportive of me being a Muslim, they still are my support system for everything else! Thanks for your nomination too, I’ll answer your questions don’t worry! 🌹🌸

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ashleybounoura

      Wa alaikum salaam!

      I had never actually thought about it until I got that question, but i realised that that was what makes most sense 😊
      Don’t feel pressured! I know Larissa also nominated you so if you have too much on your plate don’t worry about it! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your answer to home or career ❤ You said it perfectly and I 100% agree! I hope you enjoyed this post, it was nice to read! Something different yet very interesting! I also LOVE your questions (wishing I could do it again) haha there's something therapeutic about answering random questions….
    Jazak Allah Kheir, for the lovely mention – I love this little community we are building MashAllah!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. ashleybounoura

      Me too, the community has become one of my favourite parts about blogging!

      I’m glad you enjoyed it, thank you again for tagging me! ❤ it was a nice way to get myself out of my little blogging rut alhamdulillah.

      If you want I can go back and re-tag you haha, or you could just answer the questions anyhow! I won’t complain 😁

      Liked by 2 people

  3. AsSalam Alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu!

    Jazakillahu Khairan for remembering my humble blog and tagging me! I enjoyed reading your answers. I love reading your blog because I’m learning a lot from it. Continue blogging and barakillahu Feek, May Allah reward you with goodness. 💞

    I will try to answer you questions before Ramadan In shaa Allah.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ashleybounoura

      Wa alaikum salaam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh!

      Wa iyyaki 😊 Ameen to your dua too ❤

      I think Larissa already tagged you as well, so if you don’t have time don’t worry about my questions! I really just wanted to give your blog a shout out because I love reading it too ma shaa Allah!

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

