And Ramadan has gone again…

Salaam everyone and Eid mubarak!

So Ramadan is officially over, and many of us are just finishing celebrating our Eid. I hope you are having an amazing time with friends and family, enjoying all the fun of this holiday. I myself have been doing a lot of family visiting, and trying to keep the sweets consumption to a minimum as I gear up to start making up my fasts and taking care of the extra six days of Shawwal in shaa Allah!

I wanted to just write a quick post, and it will be the last one now until July, to check in with my Ramadan goals and let y’all know how it went

To refresh your memory, here were my goals from my first Ramadan post:

1.Memorise the whole final juz of the Qur’an. Admittedly, I have a good head-start with the small surahs, but I need that little extra push to keep it going!

2.Read through the whole Qur’an in the month, with both Arabic and English meaning. In the past years I have completed the Qur’an only with English, and this year I am looking to connect a bit more as my Arabic begins to improve.

3.When I am unable to fast or pray, pause my day, at least for the times of the five daily prayers, in order to sit down and do some tasbeeh/dhikr/duas. I also want to keep up on my English Qur’an reading during this time, and do all that I can to help my family that will still be fasting!

4.Be productive with my time, and stay off of time wasting things like social media. I know this one is a bit more vague, but trust me I know what productivity feels like and what my time-wasting feels like, so I will be able to report back at the end of the month on how this one goes!

5.And finally, pray more extra prayers. Taraweeh for sure, but also some qiyam al-layl at home before fajr. All the sunnah prayers, the duha prayer, they are all on my list! I think this one will be the most difficult for me because it is the most time consuming, but in shaa Allah I will be able to make these a lasting habit!

I was quite unfortunate in my timings this year, as I had to quit fasting and praying twice during the month! A whole week at the beginning and a whole week at the end left me feeling a bit like I was really missing out on Ramadan this year (plus, soooo many fasts to make up now!), but alhamdulillah I will honestly admit that I needed the breaks.

So, my Ramadan did not get off to a very good start. Within the first few days I ended up having to deal with some very upsetting personal things, some of which I am still working out until today. It became very clear that, while I had wanted to make this Ramadan the best ever, it was actually going to have to be a year of doing whatever I physically could.

The first thing I had to scrap was my memorisation goal. I barely had the capacity to concentrate on embroidering my Eid gifts (which normally would have taken little to no mental energy) and I just didn’t have the bandwidth to concentrate on something as important as Qur’an memorisation. I finished the last small surah I was working on, and left it at that.

The rest of my goals actually went pretty decently. I did not make it through the entire Qur’an in English and Arabic, but I was proud of what I did get through and, most importantly, I was able to really develop more of a connection with the Arabic.

As for the productivity, there were some times where I slept too much or too late in the day, but my body was thoroughly exhausted so I gave myself a little grace for that one. As for general productivity levels I would say they were pretty darn good, especially as Ramadan progressed and I got over a bit of the initial shock from what I had experienced at the beginning. 

And I actually managed to make myself proud as far as staying spiritually connected when I was not fasting, alhamdulillah!

The last goal, praying more sunnah prayers, was a bit hit and miss. In the beginning I could barely move myself to pray the fard, but as the month wore on I gradually added more in. I was especially proud of some of my qiyam al-layl efforts in the last two weeks or so.

That was my month, how about you? Did you make your goals or have to adapt them a little bit?

May Allah swt accept our efforts and sincere intentions, ameen!

4 thoughts on “And Ramadan has gone again…

  1. Innosinned-Tehreer-s

    Assalam o alaikum and Eid Mubarak Ashley!
    I hope you are well and blessed. Yess Ramadan has gone again and this time I feel quite sad because I feel closely similar to what you expressed in this post. I have shared my feelings and reflected on my Ramadan here: https://tehreemsiteblog.wordpress.com/2017/06/26/remnants-of-ramadan/
    You may like to read it cause it has some mutual feelings and comforting words. Also as I wrote in my post as well, I will say that here too: It is okay however much you were able to make out of the month. Allah (S.W.T) is considerate and knowing of our problems and weaknesses. And most importantly He judges us not upon our actions but intentions. We all missed out a lil here and a lil there in Ramadan but at the end of the day we will miss it and wait for the next one Insha’Allah(:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ashleybounoura

      Wa alaikum salaam, Eid Mubarak! I will definitely go have a look at the post in shaa Allah! I was just saying in my other comment how it is high time I go have a look at your blog πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Innosinned-Tehreer-s

        Jazak’Allah. Thank you sooo much for giving me a follow!! It was a sweet eidi for me hehehe. I am learning from your blog and I hope to learn more from it(: Insha’Allah I would be sharing my experiences with my religion

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

